Julie Swann

Department Head

A. Doug Allison Distinguished Professor

Julie Swann is the department head and A. Doug Allison Distinguished Professor of the Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering. She is an Adjunct Professor in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Prior to joining NC State, she was the Harold R. and Mary Anne Nash Professor in the Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where she co-founded and co-directed the Center for Health and Humanitarian Systems, one of the first interdisciplinary research centers on the Georgia Tech campus. In 2009, she was on loan as a science advisor for the H1N1 pandemic response at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Dr. Swann is a research leader in using mathematical modeling to enable supply chain systems and health care to become more efficient, effective, or equitable. Recent collaborations have been to quantify the return on public investments to improve pediatric asthma, plan for infectious disease outbreaks, analyze administrative claims data from Medicaid patients across the US, and design systems with decentralized decision makers.


Ph.D. 2001

Doctorate of Industrial Engineering/Management Science

Northwestern University

MSIE 1998

Master of Science in Industrial Engineering/Management Science

Northwestern University

BSIE 1996

Bachelor of Science in Industrial Engineering

Georgia Institute of Technology

Research Description

Analytics; health systems; societal impact; supply chain management.

Honors and Awards

  • GT College of Engineering 's Georgia Power Professor of Excellence, 2012
  • Atlanta Busines Chronicle's 40 under 40 Award, 2011
  • Joe Magnan Alumna of the Year for Tattnall Square Academy, 2007
  • Council of Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni of Georgia Tech Inductee, 2006
  • CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, 2004
  • Charles McKuen Award for outstanding contributions to General Motors, 2004
  • Council of Logistics Management Dissertation Award, 2002