King Named Finalist for Excellence in Teaching Award

Original article by Emily Packard.

NC State honored more than 30 faculty for their commitment to educational excellence at the 2018-19 University Teaching Awards Ceremony on April 11.

ISE’s Russell King was nominated for the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, the most prestigious award given to faculty for teaching excellence. The award process is coordinated by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and the Office of Faculty Development. In 1993, the UNC Board of Governors established the award to underscore the importance of teaching and to encourage, identify, recognize, reward and support good teaching within the UNC university system. Each college may nominate one candidate for this award, with one candidate selected as the overall winner.

Along with King, the following faculty members were nominated:

  • John Godwin, professor, Department of Biological Sciences
  • Russell Gorga, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor, director of undergraduate programs, associate department head, Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
  • Hasan Jameel, Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor, Department of Forest Biomaterials
  • Jessica Jameson, professor, Department of Communication
  • Hollylynne Lee, professor, Department of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Education
  • Paul Mulvey, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor, Department of Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Shannon Phillips, Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor, Department of Animal Science
  • Patrick Rand, professor of architecture, College of Design

Congratulations to Patrick Rand who won the award and will be recognized at NC State’s spring commencement on May 11 and the Memorial Belltower will be lit red in his honor at a time of his choosing.