Three NC State Industrial Engineers Honored by IIE

The Edward P. Fitts Industrial and System Engineering Department is proud to recognize three NC State industrial engineers for being honored by the Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE) with some of the most esteemed professional recognitions awarded.

Dr. Louis Martin-Vega, Dean of the College of Engineering, will receive the Frank and Lillian Gilberth Industrial Engineering Award, the IIE’s highest honor. Recipients of the Gilberth Award are acknowledged for their nationally or internationally recognized contributions to the welfare of mankind in the field of industrial engineering.

Dr. Jerome Lavelle, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, will be awarded the IIE’s Fellows Award, the highest classification of IIE membership, which recognizes outstanding leaders who have made significant, nationally recognized contributions in management, innovations and service to industrial engineering.

Dr. Ola Harrysson, Associate Professor, will receive the Technical Innovation in Industrial Engineering Award, which honors a single innovative technical contribution to the industrial engineering profession.

All three engineers will receive their awards at the IIE’s annual conference in Orlando, FL this May.